Over the past week or so, Pattinson has said some stuff that makes me even more excited than I already am to catch The Batman. For one, he’s not approaching the character as he would a character in a small independent film. In an interview with BBC, Pattinson said:

“I think it’s more difficult to do, because it’s such a familiar character to lots of people, but I think there’s something, I don’t know. If you can find a place, a way to lose yourself in it, then I think it’s really exciting.” The word ‘frightening’ definitely sticks out to me in a positive way. It makes sense when you think about it. Batman may be fighting bad guys, but he’s a tortured soul that’s willing to do whatever it takes (except murder) to get the job done. He operates outside the law and looms in the shadows. He’s a ruthless vigilante and that can be really scary. This comes at the heels of what Pattinson said a few days ago: “Batman’s not a hero. He’s a complicated character.” The Batman starring Robert Pattinson, Zoe Kravitz [Catwoman], Jeffrey Wright [Jim Gordon] and Paul Dano [Riddler] will begin production at the end of this year and will hit the big screen in the summer of 2021.

Robert Pattinson Says He Wants Batman to Be Frightening - 96